Robyn – Artist shoutout

“Robyn is here” was this lady’s first album, released in 1997. Starting her career at the age of sixteen, Robyn’s got a lot of experience since then. Three albums after that, the “Body Talk” project came out.

Robyn decided to release a trilogy of  EPs in one year, compiling some of their songs then in an album, “Body Talk”.

Body Talk Pt. 1

“Body Talk, Pt. 1” artwork by Robyn

Collaborating with producers such as Klas Ahlund, this trilogy’s sound turns more synthpop and EDM, with some repetitive sounds and pronounced beats.

“Dancing On My Own”, one of the most popular songs from the EPs, is inspired by Robyn’s “love of inherently sad, gay disco anthems”, and influenced by songs from artists such as Donna Summer. Counteracting “Call Your Girlfriend”, the song talks about betrayal, cheating, drinking, nights out… “Dancing On My Own” is not only a “sad love song” but also a strong one.

The trilogy features a huge variety of topics (feminist songs, love songs, fierce songs…) built around catchy songs you’ll end up listening on loop.

Body Talk Pt. 2

“Body Talk, Pt. 2” artwork by Robyn

One of the ideas that made this project grow was releasing music and touring without the “long breaks” that usually artists take.

From her other albums “Robyn” is the perfect go-between what she used to sound and what she now sounds like. She started making more electronic music and finding inspiration on her earlier years. The biggest lyrical influence is exactly that, going back when she was 15 and on the subway, listening to hip hop.

After almost 20 years of work, Robyn has grown up – musically and personally – a lot. I highly recommend you to listen to her, if you haven’ already. Her voice is unique, and her art, impressive and stunning.

You can follow Robyn on twitter: https://twitter.com/robynkonichiwa

5 thoughts on “Robyn – Artist shoutout

  1. You write very well J! I knew “Dancing on my own” as it was once featured on Gossip Girl in one of the best scenes I can remember (involving Chuck, Blair and a piano :p) and I loved it. I’m going to give a try to some of her other tunes. Any recommendation?

    • Thank you for reading, Lady I! It’s hard to choose but… I’d say “Cobrastyle”, “Call Your Girlfriend”, “Dancehall Queen” and “Fembot”. Don’t forget to tell me what you think of ’em!

      • Thanks J! I’ve listened to them and I got to say Call Your Girlfriend is really good! followed by Cobrastyle > Fembot > Dancehall Queen. IMO, of course :)

  2. I saw you tweeting about her and now I read this so I checked it out. I listened to ‘Dancing on my own’, ‘Call your girlfriend’, ‘Cobrastyle’ and ‘Hang with me’ and I like it. I have a feeling I already knew ‘Call your girlfriend’ but I have no idea from where ^^
    Anyway, really good shootout, as usual Javi :)

    • Thank you, Sarah. Even though Robyn is not an artist that needed a shoutout, I felt like I needed to share my love for her.

Leave a comment